Skip to content

States Allowing Electronic Proof of Auto Insurance

According to the Property Casualty Insurers Association of America, the following are states that have adopted e-card laws and/or regulations are:

US Map


  1. Alaska
  2. Arkansas
  3. Colorado
  4. Florida
  5. Georgia
  6. Illinois
  7. Indiana
  8. Iowa
  9. Kansas
  10. Kentucky
  11. Maine
  12. Mississippi
  13. Missouri
  14. North Dakota
  15. Oklahoma
  16. Oregon
  17. Pennsylvania
  18. Tennessee
  19. Texas
  20. Utah
  21. Washington
  22. Wisconsin
  23. Wyoming

Florida is joining the ranks of other states and allow drivers to show law enforcement officers their proof of automobile insurance through their cell phone and other electronic means.

 In December, Gov. Rick Scott and the Florida Cabinet signed-off on an administrative rule change implementing a law enacted in 2013 that allows drivers to show their proof of insurance electronically. Although the law went into effect in July 2013, a previous administrative rule still required drivers to carry and display a printed insurance card. Under the new rule, drivers will be allowed to display their insurance information via their cell phone, laptop, tablet or other device. The Florida Uniform Traffic Citation Statistics Bureau reported that in 2012 drivers were issued 326,000 tickets for driving without proof of insurance. However, more than 250,000 of those tickets were later dismissed when the driver later produced proof of coverage.